About DKG

An International Society for Key Women Educators

Chapter Association Local chapter members have many commonalities in backgrounds and interests. Many chapters have local outreach programs and projects that support community needs. Support for early-career educators reaches across generations for mentoring and classroom assistance.

State Organization Network

State organization activities, conferences, conventions and leadership training bring like-minded women together for networking, team building and larger area outreach programs and projects. Scholarships for further study and stipends for professional and personal growth are typically available to members.

International Connections
Through common purposes, experiences and collaboration, members broaden their scope of education globally. This not only increases career capital, but also creates a more generous and expansive view of education as a profession. International conferences and conventions bring together members for renowned speakers, breakout sessions and camaraderie. Millions of dollars in scholarships and grants are invested in study and projects proposed by members.



The name is a combination of the initial letters of three Greek words: ∆ιδασκαοι—Didaskotikai meaning teachers; Κλειδουχοι—Kleidouchai meaning key;and Γυναικεz­— Gynaikes meaning women. Today we use DKG. “Society” designates the international organization. Society Headquarters is located at 12710 Research Blvd. Ste.230, Austin TX.

Organizational structure

The  Society is structured in three levels—local, state organization and international—all closely integrated. The local unit is called a chapter. The term “state organization” designates states, territories, provinces and comparable political divisions in countries where Delta Kappa Gamma is organized. The terms “international” and/or “Society” refer to the overall organization with the total membership. The business of the Society is conducted by the organizations on these three levels and through the relationships among them.

State organizations are grouped by regions as designated by the International Executive Board. The five regions include the following:

Europe—Estonia, Finland, Germany, Great Britain, Iceland, The Netherlands, Norway, Sweden

Northeast—Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Ontario, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Quebec, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia

Northwest—Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Southeast—Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia

Southwest—Arizona, Baja California, California, Colorado, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Hawaii, Jalisco, Japan, Kansas, Mexico D. F., Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, Nuevo Leon, Oklahoma, Panama, Puebla, Texas, Utah.


Member Countries:

United States
The Netherlands
Puerto Rico
Great Britain
El Salvador
Costa Rica